CVS011 - DVD+BR - Symphonie Fantastique Berlioz
CVS011 - DVD+BR - Symphonie Fantastique BerliozCVS011 - DVD+BR - Symphonie Fantastique Berlioz

N°11 | DVD - Berlioz - Symphonie Fantastique

DVD + Blu-ray
Price per item

Choose the quantity


Lucile Richardot, mezzo soprano
Orchestre Révolutionnaire et Romantique
Sir John Eliot Gardiner, conductor

It was whilst on the verge of loving despair that Hector Berlioz wrote this Symphonie Fantastique, épisode de la vie d’un artiste (episode from the life of an artist) where he portrays the obsession of this impossible love and the torture it inflicts upon the young man who has almost gone mad.

It was first performed in December 1830 and immediately became the emblem of the musical avant-garde, making use of an unheard of soundscape which drove the audience into a frenzy which had never before been known for an orchestral work in France. Revived here by the great Sir John Eliot Gardiner, the program is filled with symbolic works by the composer with the spendid overture from Le Corsaire, and the cantata, La Mort de Cléopâtre and finally, two mythical extracts from the great work by Berlioz, his opera, Les Troyens.

Booklet in French, English and German.

DVD 9 NTSC All Regions & Blu-ray 16/9

Stéréo & Dolby Digital 5.1

Duration: 1h47